Masaryk University

Masaryk University (MU) is the second largest university in the Czech Republic, a member of the Compostela Group and the Utrecht Network. Founded in 1919 in Brno as the second Czech university (after Charles University was established in 1348 and Palacký University existed in 1573–1860), it now consists of ten faculties and 35,115 students.

Masaryk University, together with other higher education institutions, participates in CEITEC – a research centre for basic and applied research in the field of life sciences.

The university owns and operates Mendel Polar Station in Antarctica. The station facilitates basic biological, geological and climatological research. The station was built in 2005 and 2006 and is staffed during Antarctic summers.

The Technology Transfer Office of Masaryk University was established in 2005 and aims to put research results into practice and support and facilitate cooperation between the scientific community and industry.

masarykova logo